Gruffudd Edwards's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gruffudd’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 58 References 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Welsh; learning French
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Researcher - renewable energy
  • PhD
  • From Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Experience life as fully as possible. Have fun and discover useful knowledge.


I'm a friendly, open guy who loves meeting new people and gaining new experiences.
I was raised on the isle of Anglesey, in north west Wales. It has amazing beaches, and was a great start in life, I think. My first language is Welsh, a very old and poetic language. The home town you see above is actually true. Google it if you can't believe it!
I studied theoretical physics at Uni because I think stuff like quantum mechanics and relativity have such a radical message about the nature of reality - how everything is connected etc.
At about 16 I became a peace and environmental activist - there's nothing like the buzz of a good protest. I was once arrested live on CNN! Unfortunately I don't really do that kind of thing any more.
I am a researcher in low carbon energy networks at Durham University, having previously been at Bath and Edinburgh Universities.
I'm a mixture of introvert and extrovert. I like having my own space and being in charge of my own path, but am very sociable and at my happiest when I'm part of a tight group of people with some kind of mission in common.

I wrote this a while ago:
"Making a difference and being original are very important to me, and so is a bit of hedonism! I can be quite passionate, but also flippant, and an always up for a laugh.
I don't know if we can change the world, and am definately less idealistic than I used to be, but it's well worth trying. You'll certainly meet many more interesting people along the way!"
I would probably word it a little differently now, but it's close enough.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've been an active host since 2007, and lived in several 'couch surfing houses', so have met hundreds of great people. I really enjoyed showing people the natural beauty of north Wales when I lived there, and have since lived in Bath, Bristol and Edinburgh, and now Durham. I haven't hosted much over the last few years, but now have a house to myself and so will do it more often.


CS was a very big part of my life for several years. It's difficult to imagine how different certain periods would have been without it, to be honest. Who nows what role it might play in the future.


Getting to know new people and places. Drinking good beer in pubs with character.
I like being outdoors, but don't do it as much as I should.
I like to talk Universe, archetypes and synchronicities being old favourites. I'm not serious most of the time though, believe it or not.

  • beauty
  • beer
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • physics
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I like all sorts of music, but mainly listen to electronic stuff these days.
I love arthouse films of all types, but also watch far too much trashy TV.
I wish I read more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went on a round the world trip a few years back - all good, but the highlight was definitely New Zealand.

I've had a fair share of activism related moments too - such as being chased by a chinook miltary helicopter in Scotland, and my trousers kept falling down because i'd forgotten to wear a belt!

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach people about energy and sustainability issues, also Welsh if anyone's interested.
I'd like interesting people to contact me even if they're not travelling.
I don't have anything specific I want to learn but my mind is very much open.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gruffudd’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups