Logo orange

Naomi Weaver

Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Naomi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 58 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Bosnian, German, Russian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Bar work/Farm work/horses/English te...
  • Degree in ecology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To find focus and find this crazy thing that I am looking for....

ABOUT ME

Wow, the past year some things have changed and now I am setting off on a quest, a mission to find something thats missing from my life, whatever that is! If I meet YOU, I think it will help me along my journey to finding this mysterious thing! People tell me im crazy...I think they are right ;D I think everything happens for a reason.

Im interested in the squatting culture around the world, learning about politics and alternative ways of living and living in communities. Very interested in Eastern Europe.
I love to be inspired by people, when you meet inspirational people it can make you think, change your views and way of doing things forever. I love meeting people from different countries/cultures and learning about their way of life.

I am against capitalism and globalisation because of the damage it is doing on the environment and just by how fucked up the whole system we live in really is. I have lived often like a freegan not spending or needing much money at all! I love this way of life it makes you realise what pointless things people spend money on. A simple life is a happy life :) Although I do often over complicate things for myself! I learnt a lot from living here in this colourfully painted anarchic/feminist ex squat house in the best part of Berlin! http://liebig34.blogsport.de/

I like to go raving and partying :D

I am a laid back sort of person generally and Ive got a mad sense of humour often getting excited about something really stupid, yes you can laugh at me I do all the time :P I like to think I am a bit different? I want to go everywhere and do everything!!

I care about the environment and like being outside working with horses or on farms. I love horses and have been horseriding since the age of 10, I play the piano and trombone a little. Im interested in conservation work and Id like to go back to South America and travel everywhere there and learn Spanish!

I am a trusting and honest person with the most respect for anyone from anywhere. I am not particularly religious but I am interested in world religions and would be happy to participate in religious activities if given the opportunity.

PHILOSOPHY

" I could be rich like a wandering gypsy, I could be poor like a fat wallet lost"

"The best things in life arn't things"

"Good friends are like stars; you may not always see them, but you know they are always there."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

The Project Volunteering house in Berlin I lived in; we hosted couchsurfers every night and had a whole load of workshops going on every day. Crazy times :D Heres a funny little film from the project that my housemates made!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCCwuM_Juzo

Meeting many couchsurfers in Berlin and wherever I go travelling to!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing hooked me up with a crazy project house which I moved into in Berlin and lived there for 6 months. There we hosted couchsurfers from all different places. I was inspired so much from all the different people I lived with and the couchsurfers we met. Amazing times.

Hitch hiking through Eastern Europe and meeting wonderful couchsurfers where I ended up :D

Interests

Travelling, finding beauty, freeganism, squatting, hitch hiking, environmentalism, politics, anti capitalists, dumpster diving/skipping, learning, ecology, world cultures, Roma people, ex-communist countries, Eastern Europe, old buildings, ugly communist tower blocks.

Horseriding, working with horses, working on farms, animals, nature, trees, forests, walking in the countryside, bikeriding and trying to get lost in new places! I like the free things in life. Learning about the world, sociology, history, science, the history of war, photography, eating, drinking, music, crazy art and clothes from around the world. I love going out and dancing like crazy and being stupid-I love crazy nights when you can dance all night whether its in a techno club, an old castle, the Atlas dessert or some tropical Indonesian beach ;D

Music, Movies & Books

If I ever watch TV it would be programmes about travelling and history, sociology or war.
I love so much music; my favourite at the moment is modern day music and folk music from Poland and Eastern Europe. I love world music especially traditional music from each country. But also-very loud techno in Berlin clubs(!!)dance/trance/house, drum and bass. I like Indian and Arabian pop/romantic music.
I think my favourite book is an atlas of the world as I like studying that. I love photography books with interesting photographs from all over the world and nature books too. George Orwell, Micheal Palin.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was 18 I accidently found the website "help-exchange" whilst searching for a job with horses, I ended up getting invited to a random farm in Italy, terrified of what could happen.....BUT I knew that if I was brave and did it, it might change me forever...And I did it, I went and Ive never looked back. It changed my views of trust and travelling forever. I was opened up to a whole new world..an underground of amazing trustworthy people willing to give me a chance to join them!!! Thank God I stumbled upon that website...and then through that I found Couchsurfing and a whole new community of good friends :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn about the lives of other people in their own countries, the history of the area/country, politics and working on farms especially with horses ;)

I can spread ideas and ways of thinking, new ideas on ways of consumerism and wastage. I can teach English or German. I can teach some ecological ideas and biology. I could teach you how to horse ride if you have a horse he he ;D

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Naomi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile