Philip Oechsli

Milan, Lombardy, Italy

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher
  • Earlham College
  • From Louisville, Kentucky
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from the god-fearing, tobacco-chewing, bourbon-brewing, banjo-plucking pageantry otherwise known as Kentucky. While I do love spectacles, they're best enjoyed at a safe distance. In my case, I elected for the nose-bleed seats across a river, a handful of states, one Atlantic Ocean, and a few other chunks of land in 2010. I've since worked in Poland, Switzerland, and now Italy. As someone who isn't terribly interested in fashion or football, Milan might seem to be an odd choice to land one's feet. It is.
Metro strikes aside, I've warmed up to the place.

And now for other things one could know about me:

My interests are shotgunned across the spectrum of material and non-material things, though materialism in itself is something I don't care for.

I have one, but it's of the disposable ground coffee kind. That being said, I'd like to think that my moral compass is aimed true enough to serve as an acceptable counterbalance. Flimsy filtered chats tend to permeate into a range of eccentric, if not completely tangential, directions. Only the strong survive.

I spend weekends as a part-time Kevin Sorbo impersonator. I'm available for birthdays, bar/bat mitzfahs, and corporate events.

Condensing my life into a handful of paragraphs seems to be the perfect catalyst for an early quarter-to-mid-life crisis.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used to host when I lived in Krakow and it was great. I took a hiatus when working in Switzerland, since my place of work was not so couchsurfing friendly (that, and it was in the middle of nowhere). I'm hoping that this break has come to an end with a new chapter in Milan.


Photography, history, art history, art theory, Batman, facts/trivia (mostly the useless variety but occasionally I mistakenly provide useful advice. I'm working on fixing that), films and film-making, sounds, conundrums, skiing, and hiking.

I've gotta say, I'm disappointed in the length of that list, but I'm blanking. Let's just say I have a fondness for just about anything... EXCEPT:

The Princess Bride, football (I know, I live in Italy. Irony), fashion (I know, I live in Milan. More irony), brie, laugh tracks on sitcoms, people who wear sunglasses indoors and/or at night, musicals, romantic comedies, and ABBA.

The devil is real and her name is Catherine Johnson, playwright of the ABBA-themed romantic comedy "Mamma Mia".

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Until recently I've mostly been hooked on dry non-fiction. I can't explain why, but call me crazy. I've since humanized a bit and decided to take a stab at the fictional worlds of Cormac McCarthy, Hunter S Thompson, Neil Gaiman, Philip K. Dick, Alan Moore, Joseph Conrad, and several others... I'm enjoying the ride.

Music: As with most humans, I like it. I think that Chopin was pretty alright in his day, but so is Aphex Twin. I'd also hazard to say that Joy Division makes a better band than it does a t-shirt.

Movies: I'm a documentary fiend! If a film makes you feel terrible about yourself or perplexes more than clarifies, then I'm pretty much on board. Oh, and "The Room".

I'm also always eager to hear your recommendations on any books, music, and films that I can get my hands on! Always looking for new (or even old) stuff!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Yes, I've had enough for a short lifetime. At this point I'm living on borrowed time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Monaco, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Italy, Poland, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups