Hilary Angus

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hilary’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Writing/editing, spoken word, cheese enthusiast.
  • B.A. from McGill - Anthropology with a focus on gender.
  • From Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Just trying to do good, trying to have fun.


I just moved back home to Vancouver after 6 years in Montreal and am settling in happily. I write for a magazine that encourages using bicycles for transportation, and spend most of my free time riding around on a bike, cooking with buddies, getting outdoors as much as possible, and gawking at the size of the goddamn trees here. I have a lot of really wonderful, very loving, very interesting people in my life and a whole whack of good memories, so I pretty much just grin all day.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've couchsurfed once in Saskatoon, there was dogs and beers and a BBQ and a trampoline and it was an all around good time. Hosted a few couchsurfers at my place in Montreal and all of them were great folk. I put high value on relationships, even the ones that only last a day or two, so I think couchsurfing is an amazing way to learn about the world and I'm happy to be part of it. I unfortunately have no space to host at the moment, but am happy to show people around the city or go for a beer or two if you're coming through.


Tacos, sustainability, satire, bicycles, spoken word, politics, tree planting, pretending to know about philosophy, DIY, cider, camping gear, feminism, wikipedia, tattoos, community-building, practical footwear, human beings, non-human beings, baggy pants, hot weather, flannel jackets, cheese, raves.

Music, Movies, and Books

Michael Ondaatje, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Tom Robbins spring to mind as my favourite authors, but I'm actively trying to expand my repertoire beyond only reading books written by white men. Stay tuned!

I mostly listen to folk and rap, but can pretty much get down with any sort of music, and I don't really tend to watch movies or T.V. Not for any holier-than-thou "I only read books" idealism, I just don't seem to bother.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked across Costa Rica in the height of the rain season, that felt pretty good. Then last week I made some fish tacos and they were fackin' delicious.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, food, booze, laughs, hugs (if they want them), help with the housework, specifically-requested items from Canada, fun facts about a broad range of topics. Whaddya need? I'll see what I can do.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Indonesia, Kenya, Laos, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Hilary’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups