Wim Laven

Acworth, GA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wim’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student and Teacher (mostly)
  • Both inside and outside of the classroom. I guess I have ...
  • From I really don't feel like I have grown up, but Bakersfield CA.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Working for peace and justice in the world.


I don't want anyone to take this personally: I will not accept your friend request if we've never actually met.

I'm not going to put much about me here. Feel free to google my name, or send me a friend request on facebook. I have no problem meeting you on facebook, but CS has different safety concerns.


Mother Teresa's line:
It is not a matter of doing great things, but doing small things with great love.

This, more than anything, embodies the way I try to live.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My couch surfing experience is fairly limited. I hosted some guests while I lived in South Korea, and I loved it. One of the best nights I had while living there. I look forward to meeting new people, and hopefully finding people interested in seeing India, Nepal, and/or Sri Lanka with me.


I love music, and story telling.
Skiing and snowboarding.
Sometimes I feel like a fish out of water, I love the ocean.
I have a couple of cameras, and I love pretending I'm a photographer.
I own about 50 Jerry Garcia ties, and love playing dress up... you know, finding a reason to wear a tie.
I love food, and cooking. I am stupid when it comes to spicy food, I never learn my lesson.
I've got the biggest scotch collection of any person I've ever met, but I'm turning into a wine drinker.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm one of the few people who actually means it when I say I love all types of music. I have no, "except ______." This does not, however, mean that I like all artists, etc.
I miss having time for recreational reading, and watching movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

From Leh you can take a trip to what may be the highest motorable pass in the world (there is controversy, but it doesn't matter) and ride down on mountain bike; the trip back is about 42kms with a huge verticle drop 7,500ft. (or so). I is a good long downhill, in beautiful mountains.
I've riden lots of trains in lots of countries, survived Indian crowds, and military searches, but nothing compares to the Burmese (Myanmar) trains that travel in 3D.
Spent many nights, with many cool people, in many places... look out over old Mokpo, in rural South Korea, from the roof of my hillside home, with my first hosted guests was pretty special.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, Sri Lanka, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Wim’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups