Logo orange

Julie Kastberg Rasmussen

Copenhagen, Capital Region of Denmark, Denmark

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 62 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Spanish; learning French, German, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • writing. dreaming. experiencing, obs...
  • through life and people around me. p...
  • From Odense, Funen.
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

...head in the clouds and feet in the ground.

ABOUT ME

... See references below?
*
*
I don't like to put adjectives on myself.
I do love words, though.
*
I like being up very late in the night, doing nothing reasonable.
*
I don't like to stress through life. What do I need to prove to myself and others? Not that I don't have ambitions. But things take time... A colleague once asked me: "Have you always been so calm, or is it something that has come with the age?" As if I were an old lady. (I liked that question.)
*
What else?
*
Sometimes I laugh a lot with no reason, and people call me "silly". I guess I like that too...
*
Another question from a friend: "How do things actually succeed for you, when you don't have anything under control"?
*
*
I try to be present.
*
In general I prefer being "the one listening/observing" rather than being "the one talking".

^^
I'm always 5-10-15 minutes late. Or more. (Latin style.) Now you know.

PHILOSOPHY

... Live and learn.
Or: Live and grow...? [/let it all in.]

+ enjoy!
and wear more colour.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I guess I participate like everyone else; trying to make the world smaller...to make my own world bigger. And maybe yours?
*
...When I first joined this website, I used to spend way too much time thinking about going and living elsewhere. So; I did. My next project was called "learning how to live in my own country". I think I managed more or less by now. (Still, I know I'll spend longer periods of my further life outside of Denmark.)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've mostly surfed;

Many couches in Europe: Paris, Oporto, Barcelona, Hamburg, Berlin, Antwerp, Lisbon, Antalya... Even in my own country, in Aarhus once.
And also; great couches in various cities in Mexico and Guatemala plus couches in Buenos Aires and Rosario, Argentina...

Merci beaucoup, Obrigada, Gracias, Vielen Dank, Danku, Tak!

I've hosted a quite a few people and met up with many couchsurfers here in Copenhagen to show them some of my favorite, not so touristic places here. So far it has been great, I like to get a chance to look at the city with "fresh" eyes, there are still some places I don't know.

Interests

Literature, music, photography, cinema, art of any kind...Tango dancing. Chess? A bit of yoga, sometimes. Trees and Grass. The sea. Languages.
Writing; one day I will call myself an author.

And of course: talking and drinking beers with interesting or funny people, dancing with people that can't dance or that dances very well (who knows what group I belong to?). To get to learn new unknown cities (always searching for the water, a river?) Dreaming, thinking and learning about other places. Stories and destinies. Special persons and special relations between special persons.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: I like something in almost all genres: Rock, jazz, some electronica, some clasical, "world music"; folk, bossa nova - not to forget tango.. and everything in between...

Movies: "The Science of Sleep", "Amores Perros/ Love is a Bitch", "Frida". Old Almodóvar movies. Buñuel movies. And many more.

Books: Buñuel's autobiography "My last sight". Kierkegaard's "Diary of a seducer". Silvina Ocampo, Roberto Arlt, Cortazar and a bunch of other argentine writers... among many others. Recently discovered Paul Auster.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Couchsurfing! - (Not knowing where to sleep at night, and not worrying about it, because of this weird, new, firm believe, saying that "if only you meet some couchsurfers, everything will be fine." And so it was.)

México. Chiapas. San Cristóbal de las Casas. Mountain life. Or life in a hammock on a virgin, pacific beach... Tranquiiilo.

The Atlantic Ocean near Porto. (After not having seen the sea for months.)
Sailing on Lago Atitlán, Guatemala. Blue. And then: Green.
Bathing in waterfalls in the northern Argentina (Missiones).

Randomly (?) meeting beautiful people.

And so much more...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can make you listen to some really cool danish music from the sixties. I can try to cook!:) And if you (for some reason) should wanna learn my weird language, I'd be proud to help.

Would love to improve my portuguese skills... my tango skills... and my (so far) very poor chess skills.

... generally; to learn more about this strange and magical world.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Denmark, France, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile