Marie Jaen

Portland, OR, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • aspiring farmer
  • BA from University of So. California
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


I'm kinda a dork. I love food. I also love adventuring. I'm pretty down to earth and would take 'old and rusty' over 'new and shiny' any day. Basically I would describe myself as a small woman-child who likes farming and has a bit of a traveling obsession that I haven't quite gotten out of my system yet.


I think it's important to look at the big picture and not stress about the little things, because really its not the end of the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Meeting new people is one of the best things about traveling (along with eating all the amazing food of course). Staying at hostels is fun; its like the first day of college when everyone is best friends within 5 min, but staying in someone's home lets you experience the culture and lifestyle of the place so much better and connect with someone on a more intimate level. On the other end of things, I also love being a hostess- its a chance to give someone a home away from home and help them have fun and see the things that make the city I live in great. And hopefully one day someone will be able to return the favor when I travel to a new place :)


My interests include food, growing things, cows, chickens, kittens, costume parties, bonfires, heights, chocolate anything, baking, sewing, arts & crafts, traveling, and thinking about traveling

Music, Movies, and Books

Its too hard to narrow down my favorites in music... I like of bit of everything really

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

skydiving was fun. Canyoning was dangerous.

Also I once saw this weird duck-rat-squirrel hybrid looking creature in a field somewhere. It was pretty amazing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups