MANU VH's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MANU VH’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Italian, Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • Each day is a new learning experience!
  • From Bruges, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Temporarily living & working in Yangon!

ABOUT ME

What to say about myself ... as always the most difficult question.

Well, my friends describe me as an optimistic person, always smiling and ready to help/assist people in any way that I can.

I truly enjoy meeting new people, having a drink while discussing things like cultural differences or opinions on a broad range of subjects, both in a serious & (very;) non-serious way.

Unfortunately it rains quite a lot in Belgium, but when the sun does shine, I just need to get outside, either (cross & mountain)biking, hiking or ... just laying in the sun ;).

PHILOSOPHY

- "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

- Carpe Diem!

- "Once the travel bug bites there is no known antidote, and I know that I shall be happily infected until the end of my life." - Michael Palin

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been a CS member for many years already, and my first real experience was couch surfing in Italy: unforgettable memories! Unfortunately I couldn't host at that time, and work/life conditions made me loose track of CS. What a mistake! I rediscovered CS recently, and it really made a difference in my life.

I LOVE to show people around my city, and even more love to hear what other people think about it (even if it isn't a good impression).

Soon I'll be surfing again, but in the meantime I'm trying to host as many people as I can!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Last year, I hosted a lot of people after a long period of inactivity, and am VERY glad that I did. I've had all-around good experiences, many of them quite memorable in a superb way! I even met some persons through hosting that I now consider as my friends!

In the first months of 2013, I went on a long backpacking trip throughout Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States. I met a lot of local CS people, and without any exception it was an amazing and very nice experience.

Interests

Travelling: far and close by, hiking & biking (both cross- and mountainbike), camping & touring ... as long as I'm "on the road", I'm happy.

Although I rarely have time for it (mostly due to work), I really enjoy to take my time to cook something nice with fresh ingredients. In the last years, I went with my former youth movement on summer camp to cook for a large group (+70 people). They keep asking me again, so I guess the food I prepare is edible ;).

  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • track and field
  • history
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm quite a movie buff, and I enjoy a wide range of genres: from action over comedies to drama. Really depends on my mood and/or good movie releases. I also like TV series like 'Dexter', 'The Walking Dead' and 'True Blood'. They should forbid those DVD-boxes however, I just can't stop looking when I start ...

Books: Unfortunately I don't have much time left to read books, but I do enjoy the occasional Dan Brown/Harlen Coben-style thriller when I'm on holidays.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- After a day long travel on busy roads in Australia, discover an entirely deserted beach and watched the sun go 'down under'.

- Go mountainbiking in Benin (Africa), visiting the projects of a local NGO

- Meet up with former CS guests/friends on my travels ...

- Spend an unforgettable night in Rio de Janeiro / Copacabana beach during carnaval with a group of very funny and nice 'Cariocas'

- Celebrate Thingyan (Waterfestival) with local Myanmar friends

Teach, Learn, Share

- Share my knowledge on the history & sights of Bruges.
- Share some of the splendid Belgian beers with my guests, and let them discover the special tastes & history of THE Belgian speciality.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Benin, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Myanmar

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see MANU VH’s full profile.

My Groups