Logo orange

Joseph Andracchio

Philadelphia, PA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joseph's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 101 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Energy Analyst/Mechanical Engineer
  • BS Mechanical Engineering
  • From Winfield, PA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Try everything once. Live. Learn. EAT.

ABOUT ME

Every traveling experience has been a positive one and I dont think this is because of the place or by chance. You need to go in looking for a great time and find it in whatever you may run into.
I enter a new destination with an open mind... and an empty stomach. I will gladly try any food.. and probably like it. I would say I'm a very open-minded and friendly person. I enjoy playing most sports but hardly watch any on tv, and I love swimming/diving or anything to do with water. Although I am an engineering student I am interested in sports/literature/art etc. and would love to be that old man that can join in any subject and have an interesting story to tell or a random fact to send on.
I grew up with 2 brothers, 2 sisters, and two great parents and I think this has helped in getting along with just about anybody and getting a great time out of just about anything.

I am spontaneous. I am messy in some things and meticulous in others. Did I mention I love food?

PHILOSOPHY

Experience as much as you can everywhere ..everyday ..every minute.
As I stated before: I enter a new destination with an open mind and an empty stomach.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

While I used to host a lot, I now live outside of the city of Philadelphia, which makes it more difficult to participate in couchsurfing. I am still open to hosting, or meeting people to show them the city, and I sometimes contact surfers while traveling to a new place.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since my introduction to couchsurfing I have hosted or helped to host probably around 150 people and they've all been a learning experience. I went to visit a friend in September 2008 in Ecuador for 12 days and couchsurfed 3 different places. It was my first time surfing and I had a really great time. From then I have surfed in a few states and kept in touch with a few couchsurfers whom I have seen multiple times.

Interests

Swimming/ rock climbing/ bouldering/ barefoot running/ diving/ snorkeling/ hiking/ parkour/ how things work/ a good book/ just being outside/ acts of balance and coordination such as juggling, walking on my hands, and tumbling/ being completely spontaneous/ malted milk shakes/ building my own furniture/my woodworking business/ fossils

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: My sister and I really enjoy movies. Anything from Shawshank Redemption to The Darjeeling Limited to the Indiana Jones movies to Ghost Busters to Hitari to ... the list goes on.
MUSIC: Almost anything and everything with a good beat. Recently have gotten into Andrew Bird/ Rodrigo y Gabriela/ Ratatat/Electroswing/Mali music. Jack Johnson always hits the spot when its nice out.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My brothers and I climbed to the top of a mountain in the Alps of the Trentino region in northern Italy. It took a lot longer than we thought and every time we thought we were getting to the peak a higher tip would come into view. When we finally reached the top it was quickly realized that no camera could capture the scene. Looking all around us we could follow rocky crevices down to green valleys and still further to far off lakes with towns on the far edge.
My sister took a picture from about half a mile away of the 3 of us at the apex and my Dad gave my brothers and I a shirt with the picture blown up on the front as a reminder of the highlight of our trip.

Teach, Learn, Share

Language has always been an interest of mine and although I'm not even close to fluent in anything but English I love to learn. I have taken french, spanish, and Italian classes and taught myself some basic German when I visited Freiburg.
Skills, knowledge?: Im good at math, enjoy everything science, and consider myself creative. I have started a woodworking business with my brother and a friend, while still having a full time job. I always pick the choice of making something for a gift instead of buying one.

I enjoy learning and teaching basic tumbling/acrobatics/parkour ..and I have taught actual swimming and diving lessons.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Stories... good food.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Ecuador, England, Germany, Italy, Puerto Rico, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joseph's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile