Dresden, Saxony, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 32 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see DAS MARIECHEN’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Kangatraining! Sports with baby
  • foreign languages and trade studies
  • From Dresden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Welcoming our permanent "Couchsurfer" Fredrik ♥ Our first baby


Me in 10 words: laughing, travelling, couchsurfing, cooking, organizing, reading, , sustainability, Markus, baby & friends :D I am living together with my husband Markus, please also check out his profile! :)

Our son was born in October 2013 and we are just re-starting to host guests. We want Fredrik to grow up in an open and international environment and would love if you want to be part of it! He's generally an easy-going little boy and sleeps well at night. Still you need to be sure that you are able to fit in our daily rhythm. Read more under the couch section :)

About me: I'm always planning the next trip, making photo books about my last trip and enjoy exchanging experience with other CSers and globetrotters! I simply love to learn about other cultures, their living and their mentality. Since I cannot travel as much as I would like to, I welcome CSers at my home - it's every time a surprise! Awesome! :)))

I know there is a lot if information available on CS. But while restructuring the website some of it is not easy to find. So I’d like to share my favorite links for (new) members with you: check out the
Couchsurfing for newbies section, the general tips, very important the safety page and finally some good impressons and testimonials on the How it works page.


"We are told to let our light shine, and if it does, we don't need to tell anyone it does. Lighthouses don't fire cannons to call attention to their shining - they just shine."
--Dwight L. Moody

"If there is light in the soul, there is beauty in a person.
If there is beauty in a person, there is harmony at home.
If there is harmony at home, there is order in a nation.
If there is order in a nation, there is peace in the world"
-- Chinese saying

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Well first of all I do surf and I do host quite regularly =). Besides, As ambassador I am organizing the monthly meetings in our Dresden group (1st Friday every month!) . We've also had bands and musicians play at our meetings, so if you need an audience, count on us! :) Check out our group for monthly meetings and other events. Here are also some pictures of past meetings (it takes too much time to upload many pictures on CS...)(also works if you are not registered with fb). I organised many types of meetings like potlucks, Christmas party, picknick, regular meetings etc...In addition, I am group moderator for our local Dresden forum and I put a lot of effort in translating the CS website into German.Also, if you feel like planning a city "invasion" or exchange in our lovely Dresden, feel free to contact me! We've had several ones so far, the last ones with Prag and Wolfsburg. I know my city very well and when my work schedule allows it, I will be happy to show you some of it. Anyhow, you can always ask me if you have organisational questions e.g. on public transport or how to get to Dresden or any other kind of questions. I’ll do my best to help you!


Only good ones! Sofar: I have surfed 26 times in 11 different countries.I have hosted 68 people from 30 nations. And I have had 7 great reciprocal visits means I visited my guests at their place and hosted my former hosts at my place :DSome of my experiences were a bit chaotic but as regards my travels and guests I only met very very nice and interesting people! I simply like the idea that you can go to any city or place in the world and almost certainly find a couchsurfer who welcomes you, makes you feel at home and shows you the real live there :)


I love to go out and meet people, I enjoy all sorts of cultural activities like theater, cinema, expositions and above all travel reports ;-). Also, you'll see me reading a book in almost every free minute I have ;-)And well, one of my favorit activities is actually food shopping and cooking :D I love trying out (and mostly modifying) new recepies. Sometimes I first buy some funky ingredients and think afterwards what I can do with it ;-) I have a cupboard full of spices and just looove them!I am also activly decorating my photo albums. Sounds old fashioned, I know but I've been doing this for years and it helps me to remember people, events, things if done...I am a great art-lover too and I'm a big fan of Gustav Klimt and Alfons Mucha.

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is very wide but mostly French and German music (one of my favorite songs: Heros del Silencio - Entre dos tierras).

I am always reading (historic novels, Sci-Fi, thriller, biographies), one of my favorite things to do - in every situation of life ;-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Met my love though CS and lived happily ever after ^^

Climbing the Piton des Neiges (highest mountain of the Indian ocean) to see the sunset over La Réunion island

I had a 7 course menu in a fancy restaurant (not mentioning the multiple pre-entries and after-dessert-desserts ;-)! It was on invitation though ^^

Hospitality in Jordan! Simply amazing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love languages and can teach some German/Sächsisch (our dialect) ;-)

And I am proud to be a very good vegetarian cook - so if one of those skills is needed - I'll be at your service :)

I'm interested in many different things. Currently, I would be grateful for native French speakers.

***Girl's section***
Also, I love braiding! I like trying out new hair styles and can teach you a lot of different braids :)))

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Réunion, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    29 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see DAS MARIECHEN’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups