Masha Cleminson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Masha’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Tajik
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • um, I forget. er, it involves an office, I think
  • yes, please
  • From Winchester, Hants, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm here to fight for truth, and justice, and the American way. (that's a quote from Superman, not an endorsement of American foreign or domestic policy. 10 points for Lois Lane's comeback. No? Hang it, why did I bother starting...

ABOUT ME

I was living out in Russia, but had to return home to England, dramatically changing my plans, which speaks of the danger of making long-term plans and THE WONDER OF CHANGE. I moved back home (to Winchester), and got a job locally-ish, which I thought I would never do, but it turned out to be a good move as it paved my way to working for charities. A couple of years later I moved up to London, fell in love with my wonderful boyfriend, Frank Paul (also on CS), with whom I eventually moved to Tajikistan for ten and a half months on a VSO (Voluntary Service Oversees) Placement. This turned into some freelance consultancy for INGOs, which I continue to do in between writing projects. We recently returned to live in Cambridge.

TO STAY WITH US PLEASE SEE THE CS PAGE I SHARE WITH MY PARTNER "FRANK AND MASHA" (IN FRIENDS LIST BELOW)

PHILOSOPHY

I used to say "I am up for anything, as long as I don't get bored or die". That's still pretty much true although now I'm kinder to myself and turn down things if I just don't feel like it. Also, I'm not up for anything that would leave me alive but limbless, that kind of thing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am ashamed to say that I have hosted very little as my living arrangements have rarely permitted it, but as soon as we settle down in our new home later this month we plan to fling our doors open. In the meantime I have made some wonderful friends surfing and travelling with surfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS is a wonderful, wonderful thing, which gives us all the opportunity to have new experiences and meet a wonderful variety of different individuals.

Interests

I guess I read quite a bit and I go to art exhibitions as much as I can and I'm really into films. The usual, I figure. I love to travel, although imagine my extended-period backpacking days are probably over. I studied history at university and I think that still informs my interests a great deal.

  • arts
  • writing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • freelancing
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Nosferatu by F.W. Murnau, “I Know Where I'¢m Going by Powell and Pressburger and “Talk to Her by Pedro Almodovar are three of my favourite films. Though I have many more that I am liable to class as my “favourite, given my mood and what I can remember at the time.

Among the excellent books that I have read and everyone should read that spring to mind at this particular moment are: “Silence by Shusaku Endo and "Gilead" by Marilynne Robinson. But there is a lot out there that I love.

Music, don't know where to start and I go through phases. My tastes are diverse, and my listening habits are so haphazard, I hesitate to tie myself down to any genre. If you're in the UK, you should listen to Late Junction on BBC Radio 3. I'm a devotee. It provides "laid-back, eclectic mix of music, ranging from the ancient to the contemporary" (that's from the website). There, that'll do. Over the past few days I've just discovered Damo Suzuki - check him out!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bus from Aleppo to Istanbul - saw the most mazing views of my life

Teach, Learn, Share

I like jokes. I have some jokes!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Masha’s full profile. It’s free!