Dana Greyson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dana’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 60, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Aircraft mechanic/ Writer
  • Both have degrees
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be gracious hosts, considerate guests and travel as much as we can. At the moment Wayne is on a graveyard shift, which makes us poor hosts. We do expect to host again in the future.

ABOUT US

2 laid back childless 50-somethings that love to meet new people and see new places.

We recently finished a 5 year sail on our sailboat around the Caribbean and across the Pacific. We sold the boat in Australia and 4 wheel drove our way around Australia for several months. You can read about our travels at www.GalleyWenchTales.com which is Dana's most excellent travel blog. She updates it periodically filling gaps from our travels with a thing or two about where we are now.

We hike, camp and backpack a bit, so we know a lil' something about the Pacific NW hiking areas though we just recently moved to the Melbourne Florida area and are still learning our way around it and what's fun to do here. For us so far that's been exploring the nature sanctuaries and beaches.

We hope to be able to host again though at the moment our guest bedroom is a bit spartan (air mattress) and may need to double as a classroom at some odd hours.

We're pretty liberal and try to be as open-minded as we can be to other viewpoints.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We think that our greatest contribution to Couchsurfing is to spread the word far and wide about both the site and the phenom (as well as being excellent guests and hosts).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have hosted and stayed with quite a few folks here in the States and Australia. Our experiences have been nothing but positive so far. It's been a great way to make new friends and we've even gotten several Couchsurfing newbies started both as hosts and guests.

We're spending the summer in the PNW working on the boat, and playing (though Dana is finishing an online class and writing). We plan on continuing to travel when we can and are hoping to couchsurf at least part of it.

Interests

Hiking, and we know a great many trails here in the northwest. We're both certified scuba divers. Sailed the San Juans several years and plan to do it again, making our way all the way into Alaska. Picked up a small sailboat in St Lucia in 2012 and until recently were cruising on it as our home. Home is now a live-aboard a trawler in the Portland area. Happy to share what that experience is like.

Farmers markets. Dana is a foodie, Wayne would burn a can of beans if he were allowed in a kitchen, (but washes a mean dish stack ;).

We're fairly well versed in the PNW local arts scene and would love to be introduced to yours if we're in your area.

  • arts
  • beauty
  • cooking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • sailing
  • beaches

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailing to Barbuda, amazed we made it there, picking our way past the reefs, and were able to appreciate its stunning beauty.

Countries I’ve Visited

American Samoa, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Canada, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Italy, Japan, Martinique, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, South Korea, Tonga, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dana’s full profile.

My Groups