Logo orange

KG Fairbarn

Lewes, DE, USA

Accepting Guests

44% response rate · Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KG's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 77 Positive References1 Neutral
  • No languages listed
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Merman, Research Diver, Marine Tech,...
  • AA, AS, BA, MS
  • From Costa Mesa, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Satisfy the voices in my head. They are in spanish though

ABOUT ME

Timeline:Graduated highschool 2002 (Orange County, CA), graduated commercial diving school 2003 (LA), wrecked a motorcycle and broke quite a few bones Nov 2003, traveled US and Canada for 6 mo 2004, graduated Orange Coast Community College with an A.S. in marine technology 2007, graduated UC Santa Barbara 2009 (BA Geography), rode my bicycle from the Canadian border to the mexican border summer 2009, worked on the dive boat "Conception" fall 2009, crossed the pacific from Brisbane to Valparaiso as a researcher on the R/V Melville (Nov-March), worked in Corvallis Oregon as a research diver for Oregon State Uni Spring 2010, worked on the live-aboard diveboat "Truth" out of Santa Barbara summer/fall 2010, bicycle toured New Zealand Nov-March, worked again on the Truth till Sept then worked doing research on a boat in the Indian ocean till Dec 2011 and now I am in working on my Masters Degree at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey.Anyways, that's my timeline but not really "about me" although you can make some assumptions based on my prior experiences. I am an opportunistic person and am usually always busy adventuring or scheming up a new adventure. I enjoy living and working on boats and when not at sea I love living off the bicycle touring around the world. There are some incredible places to backpack/hike in the area and it is my goal to see as much of it as I can so expect to something like that if you surf with me.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe my couchsurfing comments are the best description of my philosophy.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would love to be an ambassador but I am gone too often. I like spread the word of couchsurfing and find myself at couchsurfing meets quite a bit. I have hosted many people at my old farmhouse in Goleta, camping on beaches around Santa Barbara, on the boats that I have worked on and now I will hopefully be able to host in Monterey while I am here.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I traveled around Canada, USA, Mexico for about 6 months out of a backpack, rode the US west coast on bike couchsurfing along the way, backpacked Australia, Chile, Argentina in 2009/10 rode my bicycle completely around New Zealand for 110 days.

Interests

SCUBA, freediving, spearfishing, jeeping, rockcrawling, hiking, extreme bellyflops, growing veggies and flowers, brewing beer, cooking....and of course traveling.

Music, Movies & Books

The old 1950s TV show "SeaHunt" is simply awesome. The movie "The Life Aquatic" is a masterpiece. The non-fiction book "The Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic Expedition" is quite possibly one of the best accounts of a world class adventure....see a theme?

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Ask me, I've done my share. Swam alcatraz, broke almost all my bones, dived in many strange places, ridden many many miles on a bicycle....

Teach, Learn, Share

My first jobs were as a swim teacher, and lifeguard instructor.....you can say that I like to teach. When I am traveling I like to share what America is like, and maybe confirm or deny any rumors. When I host I like to share the local history of where I am living since most people, even locals, do not know the significance of where they live.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, French Polynesia, Mexico, New Zealand, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see KG's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile