Alex Pattie

Paris, Ile-de-France, France

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning Persian (Farsi), Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • English Teacher / theatre student
  • English and French at Exeter Uni / Ecole Claude Mathieu
  • From Pinkney, UK.
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


It used to be travelling, now moving more towards theatre.


Friendly, open-minded, very easygoing. I've lived in Paris for the past 7 years, but I'm British, from south-west England. I've just started training at a theatre school, and I teach English in companies and at university to pay my rent.


Lève-toi et sors dans le vaste monde!

There is something to be learned from every experience.

Bisyor safar bayad ta pokhte shavad khami!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosting at the moment, and looking forward to surfing again!


I've surfed and met up with people in most countries between the Balkans and Kazakhstan, and we've been hosting people in Paris since 2008.


New experiences, discovering new countries and cultures, meeting interesting people. Learning new things. Trying to communicate with people with gestures and a phrasebook. Picking up words on the go.

Theatre, ninjutsu, snowboarding, windsurfing (though it's been a while). History. Drinks with friends, apéros. Being in the mountains. Trekking. Sleeping under the stars.

Paris in the sunshine.

The feeling when you get when you walk out of the door not knowing where you'll sleep that night.

The stories people tell, the little slices of life we share.

Music, Movies, and Books

All sorts, I read a lot. Here's a few:

Books: La faim du tigre, Océan Mer, The Naked and the Dead, The Catcher in the Rye, I Served the King of England, Catch 22, Kim, Malevil, Eastern Approaches, Maximum City. Readable history books. Old travel narratives or autobiographies. Decent sci-fi.

Authors: Iain Banks, Philip Pullman, Roald Dahl, China Mielville, Amin Maalouf, Joe Abercrombie, Ismail Kadere, Tom Holland. I like going to second-hand bookshops and looking for translations of foreign authors.

Films: The Lives of Others, Little Miss Sunshine, Persepolis, Pan's Labyrinth, Children of Men, Howl's Moving Castle, Spy Game. Many others!

Series: Utopia, House of Cards, Homeland, The Wire, Sherlock, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones.

Music, anything and everything. I listen to the radio a lot, normally Except in our kitchen, where the only station we can get is Radio Courtoisie - French Catholic fundementalists. It's good for laughs.

At the moment listening to: Nina Simone, The Rolling Stones, Johnny Cash, and the soundtrack to the film I'm Not There. And I've swiped one of my housemates' entire music collection, so a lot of Chanson Française and French stuff I've never heard of. And Jaques Brel!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The kindness and hospitality shown to me by complete strangers, without the expectation of anything in return.

I was once (temporarily) marooned on an island in Fiji. The young children had never seen white people before, and they would sneak up behind us, touch us and then run away as fast as their little legs could carry them.

Teach, Learn, Share

My travel objective is to experience new things and to learn. I want to come back from each trip knowing a bit more about the language, history and culture of the place I've been to.

I'll be happy to share what I know about my own culture, and I've been an English teacher off and on for about 6 years.

What I Can Share with Hosts

English pudding.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Fiji, France, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups