Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Owen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 22 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Artist
  • MICA 2007-2009
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Artist, Traveler, Celiac, Driftwood Preservationist, free radical.
Portfolio Site: http://postmedium.com/owen_francis_johnson_

CURRENT MISSION
Living in Hamtramck, transitioning to my new home on Robinwood St. in Grixdale Farms(Caldean Town,) & fixing up said home.
PHILOSOPHY
Peace and Balance, Eat Healthy

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted and surfed, mostly surfed. I have had great experiences with both. Looking forward to hosting in Detroit!
COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Positive. I think CS is a noble idea and it helps bridge gaps that direly need to be bridged, & helps the world become safer funner and freer.

Interests

Human beings and other animals, the Universe. Also, clay sculpture, found object sculpture, drawing, painting, illustration, sewing, crochet, driftwood collection/preservation, MUSIC(listening to and making... I can sing pretty well and sort of play the drums sometimes. I have a children's classical guitar but it's out of tune & I don't really know any chords,) performance art, walking, biking, Trees & tree climbing, literature, fiction & nonfiction, comic books & graphic novels, watching movies, rural environments, Urban environments, salvage,talking, listening, Healthy food. protest/social reform(original OWS hard grounder here!) YOU

  • animals
  • arts
  • books
  • literature
  • singing
  • performing arts
  • illustrations
  • diy
  • dining
  • walking
  • movies
  • crochet
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • drums
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • protest
  • local activism

Music, Movies, and Books

I love music. I'm particularly into African music, Jazz, Blues, old timey music. 60's hippy music. Blues, Soul, Reggae. Always excited to hear new music. Enjoy movies that are well written acted directed etc. Kurosawa is a favorite, especially Yojimbo and Seven Samurai.
I've been getting really into Moondog recently!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BXlkfQfL2I

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A walk in the woods. Any woods.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll show you art objects I've made and listen to your story. I will try to respect you for the god/ant/star/human driftwood that you are. I'll probably cook some stir-fry/veggie hash. I can teach basic crochet, dreamcatcher weaving, patchwork, & share tips on clay sculpting & other art media.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually share food or something artsy &or crafty. I can ramble on(and on, and on) about various things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Ecuador, Italy, Jamaica, Peru, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Owen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups