Magda Boreysza

Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magda’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Polish, Swedish; learning French, German, Japanese, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • I am a freelance artist. I make drawings, comics, puppets...
  • Master of Fine Arts from the Edinburgh College of Art
  • From Sopot (Poland) and Lund (Sweden)
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Drawing. Eating. Ping-Pong.


I'm quiet and like to sit in a corner, drawing in my sketchbook. But I love having people around me, and I enjoy connecting with other minds. I appreciate strange and unexpected things and I have an irreverent sense of humour.
The best way to get a sense of who I am is to look at my artwork:


I guess it's this: You are only what you make of yourself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I used to host when I had a place. Right now I'm travelling.


I started out hosting a few years ago and had a few great experiences. It took me a while to actually surf myself. When I finally did, in New Orleans, I met some incredible people and had the time of my life. I owe that to CS. I can't say enough good things about it.


I'm interested in the random, the chaotic, the eccentric. I enjoy solitude and silence. I like dark humour; reading; learning languages; going to the cinema; swimming in big, clear lakes and in the sea, art (surrealist and medieval art especially), drawing comics, sewing puppets, making things with my hands, cycling, learning to repair bikes, playing ping-pong, swing dancing, cooking food (vegan food), travelling, science fiction, mythology and folklore and drawing in my sketchbook.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Celine and Julie Go Boating, They Might Be Giants, Cabaret, La Jetee, Rushmore, Songs from the Second Floor, Mulholland Drive, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, Tale of Tales, Inland Empire, Mary Poppins, Synechdoche New York, Andei Rublev.

Music: Leonard Cohen, The Pixies, 50's pop, Welle Erdball, The Sea is Salt, Regina Spector, Choral Music, The Silver Jews, Tom Waits.

Books: The Moomin Books (Jansson), Riddley Walker (Hoban), Never Let Me Go (Ishiguro), Housekeeping (Robinson), Sceny z Zycia Smokow (Krupska), The Master and Margarita (Bulgakov), Franny and Zooey (Salinger.

TV: The Muppet Show, Battlestar Galactica, The Wire, Deadwood, Arrested Development, Tim & Eric Awesome Show Great Job, Freaks & Geeks, Riget, Twin Peaks, Mad Men, Carnivale, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Mr Show, Fringe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mardi Gras in New Orleans was a spectacular, beautiful experience. It was like being inside that Bosch painting,The Garden of Delights. We walked through the Bywater neighbourhood sipping champagne at 7 in the morning, while people dressed as skeletons and ghouls banged pots and pans to wake everyone. Later, we joined the St Ann parade, meandering through the French Quarter with thousands of people in the most ridiculous, elaborate, colourful costumes, unil we reached the Mississippi, where a man sang Ave Maria while ashes of the dead were scattered into the water. It wasn't just a street party. It was a profound and lovely experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you about vegan cooking, sewing puppets, drawing comics, publishing zines and making animated films. If you have a well equipped kitchen, I will make pierogi (polish dumplings) for you. They are my specialty.

I want to learn Japanese. And to play better ping pong and to dance the lindy hop better.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Laos, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Magda’s full profile. It’s free!