Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Bike mechanic, scientist-to-be
  • BS, on my way to MS!
  • From San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover, create, wonder.

ABOUT ME

I like to make stuff. I ride my bike everywhere. I love books and orchards and the sound of rain. I also like frisbee, adventure and science. I live with my sweetest sweetheart.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to show people my world, and see their worlds too. Apartment currently genuinely too tiny to hold me, my sweetie and a surfer (i.e.: our couch = our bed). One day we will host...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I haven't yet couchsurfed via the Internet, but every time I've stayed on strangers' couches it's been for the best. I slept on the floor of a Mexico City apartment for a week, with a friend-of-a-friend who was the sweetest person alive and he inspired me to open up my own couch to others. We cooked together, talked, drank a little mezcal... I learned way more about Mexico staying with him than I ever could've at a hostel.

Interests

Bikes, books, running-jumping-climbing trees, cooking, dirt, sewing, salsa, singing, tinkering, drawing pictures, science, forests, rock and roll, history, accordion music, socks and jam.

  • books
  • singing
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • running
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like reading A LOT! I like "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance," "The Unbearable Lightness of Being" and "Everything is Illuminated" and of course everything Kurt Vonnegut Jr has ever written.

Movies: "Frances Ha", "The Orange Thief", "Band of Outsiders", "Is The Man Who Is Tall Happy?"

I'll put anything danceable on my stereo, especially for doing dishes; stuff like Balkan Beat Box, Tina Turner, Elvis Costello, or Orishas. My sweetie likes Viking metal so if that's your thing, you've got a friend in him.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Sun!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm good with plants and I can show you tricks to repair your bike. My sweetie is a Spanish teacher and can talk a blue streak about linguistics and plays the guitar beautifully. We like learning new recipes and languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Mad bike skills, excellent book recommendations, washing dishes...

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Cuba, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!