Logo orange

AUSSIE PAIR

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see AUSSIE PAIR's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 43 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, English, English; learning Japanese, Scots
  • 36, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Matt - Car/truck/forklift/motorbike ...
  • Bel - Deferred Visual Arts and Ceram...
  • From Wantirna, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Save some cash so we can head over to South East Asia

ABOUT ME

We are friendly, honest, easy going people, open minded, who get along with pretty well any one. We have been called adventurous by others, but we don't really consider ourselves overly so. Matt can spin a great yarn according to our friends.

We were in the UK to see as much as possible (everything is so close), moved on to back pack around India for two months and are now back in Melbourne....where to go next?

PHILOSOPHY

What you do comes right back at ya so it pays to be nice ;-)

Why not give it a go, what do you have to lose?

Not to forget... "It won't just jump up and bite you on the bum, you have to make it happen"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We were based in Scotland for a wee while and have met some really great people through the super-active Edinburgh CS community.
We didn't have a couch to offer (we shared a flat and the flat mates werent keen) but we did have a car and were happy to drag CS'ers along on our various day trips - we posted in the Edinburgh group.
We have "hosted" a number of Edinburgh locals and travellers on our (mostly) day trips out of Edinburgh to places like -
West Lothian/Scottish Borders - Hailes Castle, Tantallon Castle, St Abbs - passengers: Lena (Germany), Mareile(Germany)
Scottish Borders - Melrose Abbey, Jedburgh area - passengers: Elina(Finland), Daniela(Germany)
Loch Lomond & The Trossachs - Passengers: Matt(New Zealand), Ewa(Poland),
Fife (stone circles and Pictish Symbol Stones search)& Linlithgow Palace - Passengers: Nic(Germany), Cali(Brittany), Magdalena(Poland)
Aberfeldy, Glen Lyon area
Glen Coe, Glen Nevis, The Great Glen (full Length from Loch Linnhe to Loch Ness), Inverness, Cairngorms - 3 day Roadie - Passengers: Sean (Australia)
Hadrian's Wall - end to end - Passengers: Jorg(Austria), Matt(New Zealand)
Lindisfarne Island (Holy Island) - passengers: Andy(Scotland)
Lindisfarne Island Viking Festival - Passengers: Nic(Germany), Colleen(U.S), Jorg(Austria)
Largs Viking Festival - Passengers: Colleen(U.S)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have met loads of great people through the Edinburgh CS community, and have shared some awesome times on our road trips about Scotland and England.
And our dash through Wales (Matt could only get a two weeks off while we had the car)Surfed one night in Cardiff with Neil MacSorley.Since we have been to a couple of CS meets in Melbourne.

Interests

We love outdoorsy type stuff - 4WD'ing, camping, sitting 'round a blazing campfire relaxing with friends, getting out and about to meet new people, see the sights and get involved with nature (hopefully without getting bitten, stung or mauled by it!) Perhaps hitting the slops snow boarding (but we are by no means experts) or kicking back down the river for a swim on a warm evening. Love cooking, good food and good beer

Matt - I brew my own beer and part of this upcoming trip to UK and Europe will be research to expand my knowledge base in the fine art of fermenting. I also love Astronomy - I've had a decent size telescope for about a year now (after dreaming of getting one since primary school)
I have my restricted private pilot's licence. I only have two navigation flights to get my full licence but put studies on hold to save for the upcoming trip to UK.

Bel - I am interested in poi and staff spinning, ceramics, photography, art and all sorts of design (e.g. interior). I'm interested in religions (although I don't want them imposed on me). I enjoy ballroom dancing, nature, different cuisine and traveling.

Music, Movies & Books

Matt - reading material: 4WD'ing, flying and astronomy related stuff(magazines and books), history books, brewing info (mostly online reference. I also have my own website dedicated to my brewing exploits)
Music: Widely ranging from Mozart concerto's, Jazz, through to metal.
Movies: I love a good doco - Discovery Channel and National Geographic are my fav's, Medieval themed stuff (one all time favorite movie is Excalibur), High Octane action flicks (lots of noise and special effects), a good suspense thriller never goes astray, old school horror like Hammer Studio's Frankenstein, Dracula, Creature From The Black Lagoon etc (much to Bel's disgust at these oldies!)
Genuine Japanese Samurai flicks - having lived over there for a while

Bel -
Movies - Really anything other than horror. Love actions lots of special affects and comedies. Love the series House, Dexter and Boston Leagal.
Music - John Butler Trio and up beat jazz. Bits of this and that depending on the mood but I'm not really into tecno or opera.
Books - Science fiction, fantasy such as Katherine Kerr stuff, Twilight series and Harry Potter series.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Matt - Flying a Cessna 152 for my first solo flight on a REALLY BUSY summer's afternoon,
Total solar eclipse at Ceduna, South Australia,
Seeing Saturn through my telescope for the first time,
Sitting at the peak of Mt Stirling (Victoria, Australia) with my brother on a freezing Saturday morning, toast and coffee in hand, watching fog and clouds cascade over the edge of Howitt Plateau down into King valley like a waterfall,
Heaps more stuff that I think is cool and amazing but would probably bore the socks off other people!

Bel - During a two week 4wding holiday we stopped in Mt Kosciusko(Australia's tallest mountain) on about a 25degree(celcius) day and had a snow fight in shorts and a t-shirt. Watching/feeling my unborn nephews elbow(or knee) sticking out of my sisters stomach.

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH -
Bel - Roller skating, perhaps some beginner poi.
Matt - Surfing (although a little unfit at the moment), Tips on how to 4wd, Home Brewing (the proper way, none of this 'just add sugar stuff'), vehicle maintenance - how to make that $200 mega-investment last your 9 month 'round Oz trip

LEARN - What have you got to teach?

SHARE - What ever is going a coffee, a dinner, a ride, an adventure.

Countries I've Visited

India, New Zealand, South Korea, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Japan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see AUSSIE PAIR's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile