Simon Renoir's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • learning and loving
  • respect and tolerance
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Le voyage commence à tout endroit, à tout instant... The trip starts anywhere, at anytime...

ABOUT ME

I studied all kinds of social sciences through political sciences and cultural studies. I wrote one memoir about a squat collective in Paris. Then, I wrote a PhD thesis about the structuring of the creative industries in Detroit and the role they have in the recent urban change in this amazing city. It took me 4 years, probably the most interesting, challenging, and the best years of my life so far!

Now I have been a Teaching and Research Assistant in a French University (in the parisian banlieue !). So basically, I prepare and teach classes about communication, media studies, creative and cultural industries...

PHILOSOPHY

To be rather than to have.
"A mind is a terrible thing to waste, I show love cause it's a terrible thing to hate!" (from Guru, Gangstarr RIP).

I try to understand better (which means through experience) the concepts and reality of Time, Space, Love, Heart-Mind-and-Soul, Unity, in order to live my life in harmony with myself and with what surrounds me: other people and nature.

I am a relativist and also, like every social scientist I think every thing we know, every knowledge we have of the world is the result of a social and historical construction. This implies at least two things: 1) we have to respect every culture, every society in its particularities as being the result of a long historical construction; 2) if it's a social construction, then we can change it. It's not eternal and we can make it better through collective action.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to share ideas and good time with people. I believe in trust and I think the more we spread trust, the more people will trust each other. Same thing with respect and love. CS is a good way to do that.

Interests

Music, cinema, travelling, meeting people, parties, beers, concerts, cooking, gardening... History (of music, languages, peoples, nations...) Geography, Anthropology, sociology, mythology, Sports: basketball (played 6 years) football (soccer of course! played 7 years) Nature and Animals (evolution is amazing!!!)

  • animals
  • culture
  • writing
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • beer
  • partying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • sports
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • anthropology
  • communications
  • cultural studies
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • medicine
  • political science
  • social science
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

I used to have a super long list here... Now, I can only say that I listen to a lot of music, mostly reggae, hip-hop, trip-hop, ambient, electro (techno, house, dubstep, dnb), rock (indie and psychedelic), folk, funk, soul, cumbia, bossanova, samba, afro-funk, brass bands and Central Europe gypsy music... I always dig for new music and genres of music that I haven't discovered yet. Lastly I have been stuck on music from Capo Verde
Films: Brazil, The Tree of Life (Mallick), Jodorowsky movies, french directors Benoit Delépine and Gustave de Kervern, Albert Dupontel.
Books: More and more science-fiction as I grow older: Dune of course, Philip K. Dick, Ursula Le Guin, Alain Damasio; but I always come back to some classics: Voyage au bout de la nuit (Céline), Franz Kafka, Jorge Luis Borges, Proust...; also otherpeople like Roberto Bolano, Chuck Pahlaniuk, and Nietzsche (it's always a pleasure to read Nietzsche!).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A night in the Maroon's village of Accompong, Jamaica.
Also, opening a squat in Paris with a group of courageous people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach French! and I can share some knowledge about the history of culture and the media. I am getting better and better at cooking, so I can share some good recipes.
I would love to learn how to sample music!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Moments in life. It can be anything...

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Morocco, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

My Groups