Kristen Clauder's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Community Economic Developer
  • Every person I have ever met has educated me in some way....
  • From Milwaukee, WI then West Bloomfield, MI
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My current mission is to learn about cultures and their way of life. I am a constant learner and lover

ABOUT ME

I identify with all sorts of people. I love to try new things and explore my surroundings. I'm not the kind of girl that likes to sit around and watch TV, I constantly need to be occupied with something worth while and productive. I believe the key to understanding and accepting others is through communication and open minds. In 2008 I went on a 4 month bike tour through Spain, France and Italy. During this adventure, I stayed with all sorts of individuals - mainly using the Help-X network. In exchange for room and board I would help families and individuals on their farms, homesteads, bed and breakfasts, etc. I think that by helping others, the world will offer itself to you in the most magnificent ways.

PHILOSOPHY

I take on an ecclesiastical perspective on life, a little bit of this and a little bit of that. I am open to knew ideas and mindsets. The Tao Te Ching is something I identify a lot with.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I Surf on couches and would love for you to surf on mine!!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Once in Miami!! It was awesome! I'll be hitting the couch waves very soon.

Interests

Cycling, Disc Golfing, Swimming, Dancing (if you can call it that haha), Sign Language, Languages in general, religion, philosophy, art history, knitting, symmetry and asymmetry, nature, being outdoors, Aerial Acrobatics, music, board games and trying new things.

  • arts
  • dancing
  • board games
  • tv
  • knitting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • art history
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • sign language

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Hook, What Dreams May Come, Grandma's Boy, Les Triplettes de Belleville.

Music: Bluegrass, folk, electronic, alternative, some indie, classic rock.

Books: Tao Te Ching, Anything by Tom Robbins or Francesca Lia Block

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went Recreational Tree Climbing several years ago in northern Michigan. Its kind of like rock climbing on trees. Once you get up there you feel at peace and one with the earth. I also have a strong emotional attachment to nature and having the opportunity to partake in that sport was one of the most refreshing and cleansing things I have ever done, believe it or not.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you American Sign Language and how to put your legs behind your head. The latter is harder for those who are less flexible haha. Other than that I can carry on a pretty good conversation and I have a great sense of humor.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy, Mexico, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile. It’s free!