Logo orange

Jackie Stratton

Hope, ME, United States

Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jackie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 46 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • PTG: Part Time Gypsy
  • oh, here and there.
  • From Derry, NH USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to love and to see how others do the same

ABOUT ME

I've been fortunate to live in a handful of wonderful places in my few years as an 'adult'. I've also been fortunate enough to absolutely fall in love with every place I've traveled through, except the burbs of St. Louis. Do I stay, live my life out in these lovely places? No, because I'm too excited to see around the corner. I've caught glimpses of many places, have put down some roots in a few pieces of land and have left large chunks of my heart there. I also live in my truck more often than not. Sometimes mobile, sometimes squatting on public land. All this moving also gives me periodic identity crisises.

At the moment I'm an Americorps volunteer in midcoast Maine working for a couple land trusts. Most of the work I do is outside and fun, and you're welcome to join me.

PHILOSOPHY

Love each other, and always find a reason to trust.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Spread the gospel, host and sleep on couches.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a dozen or so folks in Colorado and surfed (officially and unofficially) too many, and not enough, times in the states. When living in NZ, my flat was practically a hostel with all the people we were hosting and feeding.

I've had many experiences hosting, and I love the opportunity to lend a hand, couch etc. and show someone around a place I love so much. I've had many surfers stay for well over a week, and by the first hour, it's like they've been roommates for years. Meeting people with different thoughts from different places is something that fuels me.

Once, a surfer blew up my oven, and part of the kitchen. Seriously.

Interests

My interests obviously depend on where I'm living. Being near the ocean, I do a whole lot of kayaking and canoeing. I'm also in the process of making my first braided rug, a skill my grandma just taught me.

Being outside, eating good food, coffee, wine and beer, gardening, hiking, kayaking, running, volunteering and meeting fine folks. I also like making good food, coffee, wine and beer. I started flyfishing 2 years ago, and am currently taking bellydancing lessons.

I always desire to feel a sense of place through both people and land, as well as provide that sense of place for others. I'm interested in where my food comes from, and try to be involved and educated about what I consume, whether it's through my mouth or hands. I am a proud dumpster diver-for both food and goods.

My studies and interests greatly overlap. I study forests and water, and any day spent in these two locations is probably a good one.

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy books about the west as it is, and was. I especially enjoy Edward Abbey, Wendell Berry, and loved The River Why. I read more words of poetry each day than I sometimes would like to admit, with favorites being Wendell Berry, Rumi and Robert Frost. Robert Frost actually lived 2 miles from where I grew up, and his house and farm still stand. His loo is still there!

Bluegrass, blues, gypsy, folk music and those in between. I mostly listen to CO bluegrass, but I'd like to know your favorite local tunes. I LOVE live music.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The best ride I've ever taken was 100 meters above the Taipo River, NZ in a cable car. It was so good I did it about 5 times.

I'm also amazed that 85% of the references I leave for people check the option "I would trust this person with my life", even after meeting someone for only an afternoon. Couchsurfers are quite absolute people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know about landscapes- plant identification and cultural uses, animals and all sorts abiotic factors-weather, geography, soil etc.

I'm incredibly interested in world water issues on a global, regional or watershed scale, although I don't know enough about them, so teach me!

Where can I dumpster dive in your area? Never done it? Let's find out what's good.

My grandfather recently gifted me his 80+ year old tenor banjo. I don't know a lick about music, so any lessons would be appreciated!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jackie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile