Leah Yanoff

Santa Rosa, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Tour Leader (in the USA)
  • History and Theater, Mills College and Lewis & Clark College
  • From Mattawa, WA, USA (aka middle of nowhere)
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


Live my life without over-analyzing it, have adventures and surround myself with wonderful amazing people while I'm doing it.


I'm happiest when I'm traveling and learning about the world. I love to laugh and love being energetic and silly. I love getting around by bike. I love theaters, just being in them makes me happy. I like photography and have built two darkrooms in former houses. I believe passionately in the necessity of art and in artâ


Balance is the key to everything. If you eat steak and ice cream for dinner one night you gotta eat your vegetables the next.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I CouchSurfed while traveling through South America for 5 months. It was an amazing experience and made my trip a much richer experience than it would have been if I had just stayed in hostels or hotels the entire time. I met wonderful people and am looking forward to continue to use CouchSurfing in the future.


Highways, waterfalls, stages, hiking trails, photos, books, National Geographic, public transportation (riding it), meeting people, experiencing life, laughter, wine, cheese, sewing, crossword puzzles, scrabble, bicycles, history.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm totally a sucker for animated movies and I'm not ashamed to admit it. I love Wall-E and Up! My favorite non-animated film is probably Children of Men. I enjoy discovering off-beat, not well known films, especially foreign films.

Dolly Parton's 9-5 is my theme song. Beyond that I've very eclectic in my music tastes. I like music with odd instruments, like the accordion. I listen to a lot of music like Amy Winehouse or Regina Spektor. But I'm open to anything. Play me something, I'll try anything.

Books: too many to list.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sky diving over the Hoover Dam.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to knit, some simple sewing skills, or how to use a darkroom. I can teach you a few words of Italian or how to play a chord on an accordion. I can help with cooking. I would love to teach you how to play backgammon, as I'm a little bit addicted to the game.

I really want to learn more Spanish. I love learning anything really.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, Croatia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Czech Republic, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups