Logo orange

Caleb and Myra

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Caleb's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • building sustainability (Caleb) and ...
  • bachelor of business (both)
  • From Melbourne (Myra originally from Kuching, and then Sydney)
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to enjoy our time in melbourne, drinking and eating with good company

ABOUT ME

We (yes there's two of us!) enjoy meeting people,love trying new food and learning about different cultures.

We are an honest and friendly couple that share a good sense of humour. We like to have fun, explore new places, share stories, drinking tea and cooking and of course eating.

Our first couchsurfing experience was on our 6 month Europe trip that consists of travelling UK, Belgium, Holland, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Slovenia, Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Sweden, Croatia, Albania, Montenegro, Greece and Turkey! We got around by train, bus, hitch hiking, walking.... whatever worked. We love adventure, and our Europe trip satisfied that and we also met a great bunch of people through couch surfing, we now would love to give back to the community.

We live a fairly laid back life, with our dog Tulli (aka 'Monkey') and while we can't travel for awhile, like the idea of bring the world to us. We would love to travel to South America and Kenya in the not to distant future, and would love to go back to America one day (we both met at Purdue University in the Mid west).

PHILOSOPHY

Eat good food. Drink many cups of tea. Explore this world. Meet cool people. Laugh. Relax.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have surfed, now we will be hosting. Until we can surf again...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Our second CS was one to remember. We turned up to the, lets call it a residence, late one night in Amsterdam to discover that we would be couchsurfing in an old empty office building. Room for 300 his profile said - and he wasn't kidding! Our host was living there as an anti-squatter (detering people from breaking in and calling it home). We had a whole toilet block as our bathroom, could scoot down the halls and lots of free space. It was generally the weirdest/coolest/unexpected place to stay.

Interests

Food, Wine, Tea, Beer, Chocolate (Myra), Ice-cream (Myra)

Caleb likes to brew his own beer in Melbourne, but prefers drinking it.

Seeing the world
Meeting new people
Adventure, sports, camping and generally the great outdoors

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Notebook (Myra), Shawshank Redemption (Caleb), Mary & Max, Moonrise Kingdom, Coming to America,
TV Series: Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Downton Abbey, Seinfield (Caleb), Friends (Myra), Sex and the City (Myra), The Office (Caleb)
Music: Mumford & Sons, Laura Marling, Regina Spektor, Ben Harper, Alt J, Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Lisa Mitchell, Fiona Apple ... But we enjoy a wide variety, so show us your favourites!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sky dive over, and scuba dive under the great barrier reef. Cruise Route 66 in a 7 person camper. Climb Malaysia's majestic Mt Kinabalu and watch the sun rise above the clouds from the summit. Drive through Monument Valley at sunset.

Teach, Learn, Share

Myra can teach you how to make natural yoghurt from your own home (very easy!).

Caleb can cook a good roast and whip up a pretty good rhubarb crumble. Myra is better with desserts... especially chocolate cake.

Caleb knows a bit about sustainable homes and can give advice about solar power, solar hot water, sustainable building and other sustainable home products. He can also teach you a few Aussie Rules Footy skills (or show you what that is).

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, France, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Singapore, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Caleb's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile