Thomas Rastätter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Italian
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Civil Engineer
  • Karlsruher Institute of Technology
  • From Rastatt, BaWü, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

May 2016:
In dire need of a profile update but no time to do it properly. I moved to Munich last August and really love it so far. It feels like a small town, despite its size, but has all the advantages of a big city. And nature is just around the corner, too, with mountains and lakes and forests all around.
Up next is another trip to the U.S. to meet friends from across the globe, a thing I like to do regularly.

March 2015:
Still trying to settle into my new life in Bressanone in South Tirol / Alto-Adige, Italy. I am working here for a little over one month now and found a decent place to live. A bunch of new friends to maximise my experience would make it even nicer. Feel free to contact me!

ABOUT ME

I'm an ordinary guy with a boy-next-door-attitude. I very much enjoy travelling, making new friends and meeting them frequently.

PHILOSOPHY

The Law of Attraction &
Low expectations are the key to happiness

Combined, I try to live my life to the fullest without giving myself too much of a hard time. Good things should come naturally and in every form and shape. I am an ambitious person, but I try to not force things all to much =)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I got introduced to CS some years ago and turned many friends into couch surfers as well. I've surfed and hosted, and met lots of nice people on local meetings.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I did surf couches in Toronto/Canada, Warsaw/Poland, Seattle/United states (actually three times) and Orlando/United States so far (at some point I have to stop listing every time and just say "many").
CS makes your stay in another city something special and I love the idea more and more with each day I surf someones couch!

My first opportunity to host arose in the remote town of Bressanone rather than the bigger cities, which is a little weird but it was still a great experience.

Interests

I can relate to many topics, but it's hard for me to settle with one interest.
I did a lot of different sports in the past, but the only thing I stuck with was gymnastics, but never on a competitive level. I do inline skating and snowboarding as well, but that's just seasonal. Lately, climbing was thrown into the mix. In general, all sports that are fun with a good sized group of people, but no teamsports per se.

To interact with people from different backgrounds all year long I participated in a Traineeship-Exchange-Organisation called IAESTE. I was lucky enough to get to know really great people from all around the world, show them my hometown or visit theirs. Thanks to IAESTE, I have friends in many places which makes me very happy. After many years, we still keep in touch and meet regularly.

  • recipes
  • cheese
  • traveling
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • gymnastics
  • law
  • volunteering
  • lakes
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

“The secret of life, though, is to fall seven times and to get up eight times.”
― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist.
A beautifully written book full of truths about life.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This list will continue to grow over the years:

January 2010:
Not sure what is considered amazing these days, but visiting the Niagra Falls was definitely a sight to behold.

October 2010:
Also spending a summer living and working abroad and making many new friends was quite an expierence.

November 2014:
Volunteering in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States; Rebuilding houses destroyed by Hurricane Katrina and the levee failures in 2005; Meeting amazing people, being able to give to the less fortunate, receiving a lot of positive energy and gratitude, getting to know NOLA and the very tasteful cajun/creole cuisine

February 2015:
The desicion to move to Italy on a permanent basis was probably the scariest thing I've done so far but turned out to be the best thing at this point in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Willing to teach you how to make 'Käsepätzle' (german noodles with cheese crusting) in exchange for one local dish of yours. Or just a place to stay!

What I Can Share with Hosts

German recipes, stories about my travels and good talks about common interests.

Also, I almost always bring some german treats.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, Poland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!