Marco Rodriguez-Suarez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 27 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian, Ukrainian
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software Engineer @SendWave
  • MS. Electrical Engineer
  • From Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a positive and cheerful guy who's always working on his goals and dreams. I work hard but wish I got out more. I enjoy meeting people from all types of backgrounds with good travel stories. I appreciate anyone that can teach me something new or can push me to get out of my comfort zone.

I live my life trying to be kind, working hard, and never giving up on my hopes and dreams.

At the moment I'm really interested in meeting speakers of Slavic languages or people from the Balkans.

я розмовляю українською мовою але не дуже добре 😅

Also I'm fully vaccinated and try to be careful with others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Wanting to make good friends, lasting memories and help out where I can. Traveling alone can be tough, so it's nice to meet good people on here along the way.

I enjoy hosting when I have an open couch or spare room but usually I travel so much I rarely host unless I have a free couch or extra room. Things are bit more complicated with covid.

Interests

History of Mexico with relation to other countries.
I love going to the movies and out to bars.

I really enjoy reading about stoicism and meditation.

I currently work for a fin tech company that focuses on remittances(sending money) to developing countries. I spend a lot of time reading about investing/stocks/crypto and research on alternative investments.

  • beer
  • travel
  • english
  • russia
  • spanish
  • ukraine
  • borscht

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Gattaca, Good Will Hunting, Great Expectations, District 9, Back to the Future, The Count of Monte Cristo, Before Sunset, After Sunrise, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Interstellar, Inception, Rocky I,II

Shows: How I met Your Mother, Prison Break, Derek, Malcolm in the Middle, El Mariachi, Trailer Park Boys, Parks and Recreation, Attack on Titan, GunGrave, DareDevil, Full Metal Alchemist, The Boondocks, Lost

Books: My Side of the Mountain, The Martian, The Great Gatsby, Atomic Habits, One up on Wall Street,

Music: Anything composed by Michael Nyman, Banda, Cumbia, Rap, hip hop, reggaeton, Older bands like Linkin Park, Drake, 2pac, Above and Beyond, LMFAO, DeadMau5,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

These are probably only amazing to me but here it goes:

* I paid for all my engineering schooling in the US through odd work and loans!
* Saw the Rosetta Stone
* Saw the mummy and coffin of Cleopatra
* Stood in front of the oldest restaurant in the world
* Visited places in Porto that inspired JK Rowling
* Survived May Day in Berlin with thousands of people on the street partying or protesting and sometimes both!
* Stood inside the amazing and breath taking Blue mosque in Istanbul.
* Travel the world while working full time.
* Made it to my dream country, Kazakhstan.
* Watched Mexico beat Germany in the 2018 world cup
* Cared for my loved one until their last days with cancer :'-(

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you practice speaking English or Spanish. I'm pretty good with tech so I probably know how to fix your phone.
I know on a basic but fundamental level how to explain investments and building wealth.

I'd love to learn about other cultures, countries and languages. I also enjoy learning about immigrant life in other countries, hopes , struggles, successes. I want to know what it's like to live in your country!

I can share my possessions or time. I'm a good listener and loyal friend.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Strong friendship and dependability

Countries I’ve Visited

Belarus, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, England, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile.

My Groups