Mateo Tellez's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mateo’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German, Portuguese
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Freelance copywriter
  • LLCE (literature, civilization and arts or something like...
  • From Colombia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everybody,

My name you know as well as my age so let's pass to the interesting stuff (no pun intended). I was born and raise in Colombia and i went to live to Nantes, France, when i was 18 almost 19. I got my degree in LLCE last year. LLCE is something like being an expert in every type of subject that floats around a particular language, in my case, spanish. Simpler, i am an specialist (or i should be) in the history, language, arts, literature, linguistics and grammar (among others) of the spanish speaking countries (that's Spain plus 25 countries in America).

I recently change countries, i live now in Karlsruhe, Germany. I'm looking to learn the language and build myself a reputation as a copywriter. I live with my lovely German wife Rebecca.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would love to discover a city or a country with the help of local people, hopefully people that will show me both the touristic and every day to day life of those particular places. Maybe make so good lasting friends too? i guess i'm about to find out.

Interests

Not sure what to put here...umm traveling, enrich my culture, make my world wider as our world get's smaller, find happiness (or discover i already have it)...On a more terrestrial plan, i love museums and every kind of place that smells like epic history and unknown times.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not very curious when it comes to music, I've kept the same playlist for the past 10 years, i guess i could say metallica has the highest number of songs in that playlist, followed by Bruno Mars...i don't think that helped much, did it?

Movies...i enjoy any kind of movies that leaves me with a strong sensation of something, be that sadness or happiness or confusion or whatever. A lot of movies fit that description but lot of others don't like Transformers or The hunger games, do you get my point?

Books well i love latin american literature, specially the "boom" writers (Garcia Marquez, Julio Cortazar, Mario Vargas Llosa, etc). From the other side of the ocean i really enjoy Albert Camus, Tolstoi and Verne (this last one on my teenage years most of all). English literature i don't know much but my girlfriend keeps giving me Hemingway.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It might be silly but one of the things i'm most proud off in my short life is the way how i got my high school diploma. In Colombia most of schools have an strict policy about uniforms, haircut styles and general image standards. I've always liked long hair (even if i don't have like that anymore) so i keep having problems with the director. One good day i decided i wasn't gonna take it anymore and drop out of school. In Colombia the SAT exam (or BAC depending your country) it's called ICFES. As it turned out you can present your ICFES directly after 9 years of studies and if you passed with a high score, that's it, you're graduated. So i did and i passed it! I finished a year and a half before my friends, time i used to learn french and come to Europe.

I hope someday i'll have a better story to share but for now i still think this particular one is quite awesome.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share and teach my language skills and my historical knowledge. I will also be extremely happy to show you my culture and my country and as much photos i can of all of that (or eventually my actual country i i ever find you in Colombia). I want to absorb as much culture you can give me, i want to learn how to breathe the magic of your city.

What I Can Share with Hosts

This seems a little bit like the same question as above so let's say we can share some quality time. I will always prefer a late night talk about anything that a night in a disco.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, France, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Mateo’s full profile.