Marcel Kamphuis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Polish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Freelance marketeer/copywriter
  • Hogeschool van Amsterdam / Universiteit van Amsterdam
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We have a baby since October 2019! As a result, we are no longer able to host via Couchsurfing. Hopefully it will be posible again in the future!

I am 34 years, a freelance marketeer/concert/stand-up comedy booker and I studied Dutch Language and Culture at the University of Amsterdam. I moved from Utrecht to Rotterdam in June 2016 and I live here together with my girlfriend, three cats, one chickens, turtle and a bunch of fish. When we host you in Rotterdam there is a big change I will organize an event, so you are always welcome to join.

When I go travelling I like to meet new people and share our stories with them. Meeting new people is often the best part about travelling. I often travel together with my girlfriend Nikki. We are both vegetarians, but we won't judge you when you are not. Check out her profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/grinwithoutacat

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been surfing and hosting since 2010! I've met people through Couchsurfing when I was in India, Israel, United States, Korea, Japan, Russia and most of the European countries. I often organize CouchSurfing Meetings too at venues or at my home during our living room concerts. We've often got bands and travelers sleeping in our spare room too. I love to exchange stories about travelling and give some advice about my city and country.

Interests

I like horror movies, board games, American Late Night Talk Show, Mexican food and all the other really spice food. I like visiting concerts, stand-up comedy nights and movie theaters, but also things like coffee plantations and Disney parks. I love travelling and exploring new cities and countries and I hope I will keep traveling until I'm really old. And I love Belgian speciality beers and like to try all the beers from local craft breweries too. Fortunately Rotterdam is a great places to try different cuisines and local beers.

  • animals
  • cats
  • fish
  • culture
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • table tennis
  • communications
  • freelancing

Music, Movies, and Books

I really like all these American television talk shows like Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel, Conan, Seth Meyers and James Corden. I also like tattoo shows like Ink Masters, Tattoo Nightmares and Tattoo Fixers. And of course I watch Game of Thrones too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Renting a scooter in Goa in India, without ever having touched one before. The most stupid and amazing thing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people new music, how to be great at playing Mario Kart on N64 and how to make a prefect boiled egg. And I often make Dutch pancakes and/or sushi when I go surfing in foreign countries too, I like thanking my hosts by showing my unbelievable cooking skills.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Morocco, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcel’s full profile.

My Groups