Ruben Bravo's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 16 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Czech, French, Portuguese, Russian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Logistics Coordinator
  • International Relations
  • From Zamora, Michoacán, Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Always looking further.

ABOUT ME

From time to time all and each of us has to step back and look at what we have become, to see if our current life fits in what we were expecting . Sometimes we do it by our own will, some others we are forced to do so. The cycles we opened have to be closed sooner or later, and this is my time for doing so.

Hello there, so you decided to read a bit about me, thanks for taking the time for doing so. I currently live in Mexico City, I moved here at the age of 18 for college. I am profesional in International Relations, meaning that I might be asking many question if we get to meet, and I will also be anxious for hearing your point of view on things, as politics, social, cultural affairs and so on. I was living in the Czech Republic for a couple of years as part of my studies, how is that I learnt Portuguese in the Czech Republic instead of Czech is a subject to talk with a cup of coffee and a considerable amount of time.

In a day-to-day basis I'm a senior logistics coordinator for a medical devices company (nothing further of what I was expecting during my career) nevertheless I love what I do and I couldn’t be more pleased with my position.

About my hobbies, I read a lot, novels mostly from all kind of authors, classic, science fiction, thriller. I love taking long walks, find pleasant places, to have conversations with local people about they own perspective on reality, hobbies and dreams. The most amazing thing for me it’s to get to understand local life from someone else perspective. I have tried to learn how to play the piano, but I haven't achieved it yet, all advice on this matter are more than welcome.

PHILOSOPHY

"There are no strangers here, just friends we haven't meet yet"
Wherever there is something new to learn, I am interested to be.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I always wanted to be a local in a foreign country. This is the closest to it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfing in Barcelona, London, Porto, Paris, Amsterdam, Antwerp, Pisa,Florence, Venice, Coimbra, Madrid, Rome, Greece, Prague, Krakow, Bogota.

Interests

I love visiting old book stores, walking around and discovering hidden places, I enjoy getting lost in new cities. I really love finding forgotten monuments. I scarcely use maps, just when I have no option.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • languages
  • learning
  • knowing
  • understanding
  • living
  • loving

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I like the good ones

Books... Auster, Kundera, Druon, Simmel, Capote, Cortázar, Camus, Puig, Saramago, Dostoievski, Asimov, Atwood, Tolstoi, Wilde, Benedetti, Baux, Orwell, Brontë, Fuentes, Velasco, Pacheco, Bradbury, Huxley, Kafka, Lobo Antúnez, Mankell, Agualusa, Falcones, Murakami, Romain Gary, Maupassant, Victor Hugo, Plaidy, Grandes, Hemingway, Lee, Vargas Llosa, García Marquez, Eco, Borges, Flaubert, Süskind, Rosales, Urban, Golding, Mora, Jonquet, Woolf, Peixoto...

Music... Almost everything. My playlist is as eclectic as the latinamerican arquitecture.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydive, snorkeling, being slapped by a turtle, and to take part in an electrophysiology procedure...

Teach, Learn, Share

I am well know for teaching Spanish in the most unorthodox way, I love cooking and I have some local recipes to share. I really love knowing different perspectives, love listening, and I have a bunch of stories to tell.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My life (dreams, stories and plans included)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Colombia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Greece, Mexico, Portugal

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups