Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MAYSTELO’s full profile.


  • 109 references 98 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • sharing experiences
  • still educating myself
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

It's time to redo my profile. The last few years I took a break from couchsurfing for several different reasons. I am thinking about getting back into it, so here I am. Or rather: Here we are. We? you ask. Me and my two wonderful boys, aged 3 and 5. So if you'd like to stay with me, you gotta like kids. Little kids.

And because of them and their rhythm you should neither arrive past 6 nor leave the house before 8. Exceptions can be made depending on your reasoning and our schedule.


living my life the way I want to


Find out for yourself, but just a heads up: I do not communicate via anything but couchsurfing, so please don't send me your facebook profile or phone number in a request. It just tells me you haven't even clicked on my profile.
[Beloved couchsurfer, I am honestly very sorry that you have to read the following... It's just helpful for those who send copy and paste request because they usually read my profile after I declined them.]
Sorry, I am too old school to host people who send me a copy and paste request. So make sure you comment on something that you can only find in my profile, not in all the other ones. Because I am neither open-minded nor easy-going, and so many couchsurfers are well traveled and have amazing references. So none of that singles me out, nor you if you write it.
It is YOUR job to set yourself apart from all the other requests I get every day. And it's not about long stories, just a short hint why you are interested in staying with ME and for example not my partying neighbor.

Para todos los hispanohablantes, escríbeme en español si no estáis comodos en inglés. Por lo menos así sé que habéis intentado leer mi perfil.

Und auch die Deutschen mit geringen Englischkenntnissen sollten mir verraten, wieso sie gerade mir eine Anfrage schicken.

THERE IS NO FRYING MEAT IN MY KITCHEN. I don't mind you eating meat or preparing food with meat, but after frying meat my place smells for days. So sorry, no frying meat nor smoking in my place. Durian is welcome though ;-)


To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries.
Viajar es descubrir que todo el mundo tiene ideas falsas de otros países.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

You don't have to offer anything to anyone, but whatever you offer, you do so without asking anything in return. That is the spirit.


By listening to people in the train looking for a place to stay and handing over phone numbers of friends who would host them.

And by ALWAYS leaving a reference - because this is what makes couchsurfing more secure and even better, because it's easier to figure out how well you'd get along with the other couchsurfer you haven't met yet.


There are people who use couchsurfing, and there are people who live it - you create your own experience!

I traveled around Europe in 2011 and had some wonderful experiences. I have been in different countries with different cultures but always the same welcoming cs attitude. And since I loved it so much, four years later, I went on a way longer trip to enjoy more couchsurfing. Though in-between I already had some guests from different countries and must say - it's wonderful to see that great people come from everywhere.

And for everybody who likes lists, here we go.
Places I've couchsurfed in chronological order:
Bremen, Germany (December 2010) (February 2011)

during trip through Europe in summer 2011
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Brussels, Belgium
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Bern, Switzerland
Lucerne, Switzerland
Milan, Italy
Bologne, Italy
Rome, Italy
Naples, Italy
Thessaloniki, Greece
Belgrade, Serbia
Zagreb, Croatia
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Vienna, Austria
Bratislava, Slovakia
Krakow, Poland
Warsaw, Poland
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Lübeck, Germany (bike trip to the baltic sea in March 2014)

Dublin, Ireland (before EJC in summer 2014)

Bilbao, Spain (before and after surfing in summer 2014)

Toronto, Canada (July 2015)
Ottawa, Canada (August 2015)
Montréal, Canada (August 2015)
Québec City, Canada (August 2015)
Seattle, USA (September 2015)
Lynnwood, USA (September 2015)
Vancouver, Canada (September 2015)
Nanaimo, Canada (September 2015)
Mexico City (September 2015)
Oaxaca, Mexico (October 2015)
San Cristóbal de las Casas, Mexico (October 2015)
Xela, Guatemala (October 2015)
Antigua, Guatemala (October 2015)
Lanquín, Guatemala (October 2015)
Flores, Guatemala (October 2015)
Caye Caulker, Belize (October 2015)
Playa del Carmen, Mexico (October 2015)
Bogotá, Colombia (October 2015)
Medellín, Colombia (October 2015)
Armenia, Colombia (November 2015)
Quito, Ecuador (November 2015)
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (November 2015)
Lima, Peru (November 2015)
El Alto, Bolivia (November 2015)
Asunción, Paraguay (December 2015)
Montevideo, Uruguay (December 2015)
Buenos Aires, Argentina (December 2015)
Santiago, Chile (January 2016)
Sydney, Australia (February 2016)
Denpasar, Indonesia (February 2016)
Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia (February 2016)
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia (February 2016)
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia (February 2016)
Kota Kinabalu, Borneo, Malaysia (February 2016)
Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam (February 2016)
Pacita, Philippines (March 2016)
Kaohsiung, Taiwan (March 2016)
Tainan, Taiwan (March 2016)
Taichung, Taiwan (March 2016)
New Taipei, Taiwan (April 2016)
Seoul, South Korea (April 2016)
Osaka, Japan (April 2016)
Macao (April 2016)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (May 2016)
Kangar, Malaysia (May 2016)
Bangkok, Thailand (May 2016)
Hanoi, Viet Nam (May 2016)
Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam (May 2016)
Bangkok, Thailand (June 2016)
Pearl Spot, India (June 2016)
Negombo, Sri Lanka (June 2016)
Kandy, Sri Lanka (June 2016)
Hulhumalé, Maldives (June 2016)
Mumbai, India (July 2016)
Johannesburg, South Africa (July 2016)
Cape Town, South Africa (July 2016)
Almere, Holland (July 2016)
Tallinn, Estonia (August 2016)
Jēkabpils, Latvia (August 2016)
Pāvilosta, Latvia (August 2016)
Kaunas, Lithuania (August 2016)
Vilnius, Lithuania (August 2016)
Kosowo, Poland (August 2016)
Szczecin, Poland (August 2016)

Last summer alone (July 2017) (August 2017)

Trips with my tiny human (March 2019) (August 2019)

And people I had the opportunity to host in
Bremen (September 2011) (September/October 2011) + kid (January 2012) + 1 (February 2012) (February 2012) (March 2012)

and Hamburg (February 2014) (March 2014) (March 2014) + 1 (April 2014) (May 2014) (May/June 2015) + 1 (October 2016) (November 2016) *2 (November 2016) (November 2016) (November 2016) (December 2016) (December 2016) (January 2017) (February 2017) (February 2017) (April 2017) + 2 (October 2017) +1 + 1 (March 2018) (May 2018) + 1 (July 2018) (July 2018) + 1 (August 2018)

and as the family we are + 3 (July 2023)


Getting to know the planet and all the people(s) on it.

And apart from that a lot of things.
Eight years ago I started looking into healthy food. I decided that life is worth living even when you are old so now I am planning to get old which means I have to eat healthy.

The same year I noticed that I am interested in name giving. How are names (mostly last names) given in your country? So far Iceland has the most interesting way of doing that.

And future plans? More traveling, of course. Maybe some day I figure out how to sail around the world. Because somehow that seems to be a low simmering dream of mine.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • sailing
  • skydiving
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • languages
  • psychology
  • beaches
  • health
  • living

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite music is laughter,
my favorite movie is life itself
and my favorite book is my diary - though while traveling the couchsurfing website with all those different profiles is a very good "book" as well. Entertaining, informative and full of surprises.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

If I am only allowed one amazing thing, than it's this: I've lived and whilst doing that, I found the place on earth where I belong (for now).

If it's about different amazing things I've seen or done, it might go like this:
swimming with dolphins in the Pacific Ocean
walking one thousand kilometers in less than forty days
spontaneous skydiving with a charming tandem partner
being in places where humans are just visitors and only nature matters
watching kids grow older and experience their world
having friends and sharing their lives and families
and last but certainly not least: meeting great people whilst traveling, falling in love over and over again, never wanting to stop

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to juggle three or four balls.
Some tricks, too, if you like.

If you want to learn something about the languages I speak, I am in. (Though I am not the right person for beginners of the German language. I do want to be able to have an easy conversation with my guests.) And that's what I would like to learn. More languages, or even just a little something about them. And everything about the culture of any country you know.

Well, well, well... I can tell you which culture has the most interesting way of name giving, which language has the weirdest way of counting to a hundred and which country has the most complicated way of telling time - obviously everything just considering my experiences so far.
Oh, and the to me - and I guess more Europeans - most confusing names for the weekdays. (Though I just realised while rereading my old profile, that I forgot some of those interesting things in the past few years...)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Mostly good conversation about the world and the people living in it - though I have to warn you that I look at the world through my own eyes, my opinions are based on that and can't be generalized.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see MAYSTELO’s full profile.

My Groups